Southboro Open Land Foundation

people looking over meadow at sunset

Recipients of the Elaine Beals Conservation Award

Published on May 12, 2023 by Eileen Samberg

Elaine Beals was among the founding members of the Southborough Open Land Foundation. She served on the Board of Trustees of SOLF, including holding the position of treasurer for many years. She was dedicated to the preservation of the environment and open space, reinforcing her conservation ethic as a member of the Town of Southborough’s Open Space Preservation Commission. In the 1950s and 60s, Elaine and her husband Philip purchased 190 acres of land abutting their farm to protect it from development. All of that land is now under permanent conservation restrictions. Fifty-six acres of it was gifted to SOLF in 2009, property that is now known as the Elaine and Philip Beals Preserve.  In her honor, SOLF presents the Elaine Beals Conservation Award each year to a local resident who has shown outstanding leadership in environmental conservation. The first Elaine Beals Award was presented to Elaine on the occasion of her retirement from the Board of Trustees of SOLF.

The recipients of the award are:
2023 – Allan Bezanzon
2022 – Jim Gorss
2021 – Lisa Braccio
2020 – Kat McKee
2019 – Beth Rosenblum
2018 – Carl Guyer
2017 – Alan French
2016 – Christa Brady and the Friends of the Burnett-Garfield House
2015 – Rep. Carolyn Dykema
2014 – Elizabeth Meyer
2013 – Rhonda Russian
2012 – Meme Luttrell
2011 – Richard Upjohn
2010 – Linda Hubley
2009 – Carol Gay
2008 – David Morgan
2007 – Peter Kallander
2006 – Frederica Gillespie
2005 – Elaine Beals